85% of Child Safety Seats are Installed Incorrectly

Is your child safe? Don’t take that chance – have your car seat inspected by Frederick County Fire and Rescue.

Virginia’s Child Restraint Device Law
(Code of Virginia Article 13 - Section 46.2)
The major requirements of Virginia’s Child Restraint Device Law:

• Effective July 1, 2007: Child restraint devices are required for children through the age of seven (until 8th birthday). Child restraint devices must be properly used and meet standards adopted by the United States Department
of Transportation.
• Effective July 1, 2007: Rear-facing child restraint devices must be placed in the back seat of a vehicle. In the event the vehicle does not have a back seat, the child restraint device may be placed in the front passenger seat only if the vehicle is either not equipped with a passenger side airbag or the passenger side airbag has been deactivated.
• Effective July 1, 2007: Children can no longer ride unrestrained in the rear cargo area of vehicles.
• The law applies to anyone (i.e., parents, grandparents, babysitters, friends) who provides transportation for a child in any vehicle manufactured after January 1, 1968.
• Public transportation (taxis, buses), regulation school buses, and farm vehicles are exempted.
• The child restraint device law is primary enforcement—no other violation need be committed prior to ticketing for failure to have a child in an approved seat.
• A $50 civil penalty fine is imposed for failure to transport a child in a child restraint device. A $20 civil penalty fine is assessed when persons transporting a child exempted from this law due to medical reasons do not carry a written statement of the exemption. All fines collected go into a special fund to purchase safety seats for low-income families.